Show Main Menu Hide Main Menu

Facts and Figures

Funding period: 1 November 2012 – 31. December 2018

Funded within the Excellence Initiative by the German federal and state governments

Funding: 25 million euro

Host: Universität Hamburg

Participating Institutions:

Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron (DESY), European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), European XFEL GmbH (XFEL), Max Planck Research Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter (MPSD)


Dr. R. J. Dwayne Miller, Professor of Physics, MPSD

Dr. Klaus Sengstock, Professor of Physics, Universität Hamburg, MIN, Institute of Laser Physics

Dr. Horst Weller, Professor of Physical Chemistry, Universität Hamburg, MIN, Institute of Physical Chemistry


19 Principal Investigators (PI)

12 Young Scientists (YS)

13 Associate Researchers (AR)

3 International Collaborators (IC)

Research Areas:

A: Imaging and Control of Quantum Systems

B: Atomically Resolved Structural Dynamics

C: Dynamics of Order Formation on the Nanoscale

Education, Opportunity, Awards:

Graduate school, school cooperations, equal opportunity programs, Mildred Dresselhaus Guest Professorship Program, Louise Johnson Fellowship, The Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics