Show Main Menu Hide Main Menu

International Symposium 2014

For the second time CUI invited all members and guest to its International Symposium. From 12 to 14 November 2014 worldwide leading scientists met to present and discuss the latest results and developments in the fascinating fields of photon and nanoscience, including topics from experimental and theoretical ultra-fast physics, solid state physics, X-ray and laser science, quantum optics as well as nanoscience.

As a highlight of the International Symposium CUI and the Joachim Herz Stiftung awarded the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics 2014 to Prof. Antoine Georges, Collège des France (Paris), École Polytechnique (France), and University of Geneva, for his outstanding contributions to condensed matter physics, in particular for the development of novel methods to describe strongly correlated systems.

Also view the film.


Petra Herz, chairwoman Joachim Herz Stiftung, presented the prize to Prof. Antoine Georges. Dr. Dorothee Stapelfeldt, Second Mayor of Hamburg (r.), handed the certificate over. Credit: Joachim Herz Stiftung, Andreas Klingberg


CUI spokesman Prof. Klaus Sengstock (left) warmly congratulated Prof. Antoine Georges. Credit: Joachim Herz Stiftung, Andreas Klingberg



Invited speakers included:

Ole Andersen, Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Stuttgart
Martin Caffrey, Trinity College, Dublin
Majed Chergui, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne
Hubert Ebert, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Tilman Esslinger, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich
Antoine Georges, Collège de France & École Polytechnique, Paris
Dmitri Golberg, Center for Materials Nanoarchitectonics (MANA), National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), Tsukuba, Japan
Thierry Giamarchi, Université de Genève
Thomas Irving,Illinois, Institute of Technology, Chicago
Patanjali Kambhampati, McGill University, Montreal, Canada
Anna Krylov, University of Southern California, Los Angeles
Thomas Marlovits, Centre for Structural Systems Biology & Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf, Hamburg
Cristiane Morais Smith, Universiteit Utrecht
Matthias Weidemüller, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

For further information including abstracts please view the Booklet.