Show Main Menu Hide Main Menu

Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics

From 2013 until 2017 CUI and the Joachim Herz Stiftung jointly awarded the “Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics”. The award honors outstanding contributions of a highly accomplished international researcher to the field of Photon Science. This research field comprises topics like Quantum Optics, Laser Physics, Ultrafast Physics, X-ray Physics.


Second mayor Katharina Fegebank presented the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics 2015. © Joachim Herz Stiftung, Fotograf: Andreas Klingberg

The award was originally established in 2010 by the state cluster of excellence “Frontiers in Quantum Photon Science” at Universität Hamburg, which was also supported by the Joachim Herz Stiftung. Starting in 2013 the prize was awarded by CUI and the Joachim Herz Stiftung and comprised an award certificate and a personal prize money of 40,000 euro.

From 2018 on the prize will be awarded together with the Joachim Herz Stiftung and the Wolfgang Pauli Centre (WPC) of Universität Hamburg and DESY. It involves now all areas of theoretical physics and is endowed with a prize money of 100,000 euro. The prize winner is expected to interact with the research groups and especially with young researchers of the cluster (e.g. via lectures and seminars) during one or more visits to Hamburg. Additional funds are available for these visits.

Awardees of the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics

Further information: