Show Main Menu Hide Main Menu

International Symposium 2017

In honor of the winner of the Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics 2017, Prof. Andrew Millis, CUI’s fifth International Symposium covered modern trends in condensed matter physics. CUI and the Joachim Herz Stiftung together presented the prize worth 40.000 Euro in a ceremony on Thursday, 9 November 2017, on Campus Bahrenfeld. 

From left: Dr. Henneke Lütgerath, Chairman of the Executive Board of the Joachim Herz Stiftung, Katharina Fegebank, Hamburg’s Deputy Mayor and Minister of Science, Prof. Andrew Millis and Prof. Jan Louis, Vice President of Universität Hamburg. © Joachim Herz Stiftung/Claudia Höhne

Invited Speakers

Tony Heinz, Stanford University, USA

Lev Ioffe, Rudgers University, USA

Andrew Millis, Columbia University, New York & Simons Foundation, New York, USA

David Reichman, Columbia University, New York, USA

Philipp Werner, Universität Freiburg, Swiss Confederation

Laudatory Speech

Dmitri Basov, Columbia University, New York, will give the laudatory speech for Andrew Millis.

Further Information

Schedule: CUI Symposium 2017

News: US researcher receives prize for work on superconductivity